#HowToLoveMe

I love searching through Instagram. Yes, I am one of those people who search through the discovery page, lusting over fashion, tattoos, travel photos and beautiful people. The other day I stumbled upon Shan Boodram’s Instagram account and boy am I happy I did. Not only is she a physically beautiful human being, but she is the kind of woman that just through scrolling her feed, you can tell she’s a world changer. I could literally ramble about her for ages but that is not the reason for this post. The reason for this post is an initiative that she started called: How to Love Me.

DFrggGqXkAAwBJh

The initiative is exactly what it sounds like. It is instructions for the person you love (or one day will love), on how to love you. In Shan’s YouTube video that I linked above, she explains that so many people in relationships are put in situations that they are not designed to thrive in. Instead of figuring out how to love a person in a way they need to be loved, we get mad because they are not reacting the “proper” way to the love we are giving them. Shan proposes an idea of what if we give people the recipe on how to love us and help us thrive in that love. The instructions for people who want to understand us, before attempting to love us.

I thought this was an amazing and beautiful idea and in doing this initiative, I might not only possibly help someone love me one day, but I’ll also learn how to accept that love and prosper in it. So here is a list of the most important things I need to feel loved.

  • showing you care about what I care about
  • giving me my personal space when I need it
  • physical touch
  • making me a priority
  • respecting my time
  • HONESTY-LOYALTY
  • express your feelings
  • laugh with me
  • challenge me
  • support my passions, but also have your own
  • grow with me
  • help me through my bad days
  • kindness

If you guys have a second, I challenge you to take this initiative and share it with your partner. If you’re like me and you don’t have one, who cares! Do it anyway! You have nothing to lose and everything to gain!
Also, check out Shan on her social media! This girl is life changing!!

🙂
Ash

Leave a Reply

