Friday Faves: MakeUp (Part 2)

Guess who’s back.. back again? haha but seriously, it’s only Tuesday and I’m already starting to write this blog because I just love talking about makeup that much… some might call it an obsession. Nahhh. So here is a continuation on from my first Friday Faves: MakeUp (Part 1). Grab a snack, sit back and let’s get back into it again!

Bronzers:
I like my bronzers with a cooler undertone, especially since my skin tone is already on the orange side.  If I use an orangey bronzer combined with my skin tone, I look like a pumpkin! I also prefer matte bronzers, compared to bronzers with a sparkle in them, I find this makes them look a lot more realistic on the skin!

My first fave is the Too Faced- Soleil Matte Bronzer in the shade ‘Chocolate’.  This is the perfect bronzer for both contouring and bronzing the face.  It is a cooler tone, so it leaves the most natural, sunkissed glow to the face! This is definitely a staple in my makeup collection AND it has the most wonderful smell of chocolate. YUM!
s1511823-main-hero

The second favourite bronzer is one that I would consider as a dupe for the Too Faced one! **A dupe is a cheaper version of an expensive product. The only difference is this one is a little more powdery whereas the Two Faced bronzer is more velvety. This bronzer is NYX Cosmetics- Matte Bronzer in . Again this is just the perfect bronzer for both contouring and bronzing the face. It’s not too warm and it’s not too cool toned and it glides on the face wonderfully!
mattebronzer_main

**I currently use the Benefit Cosmetics- Hoola Bronzing and Contouring Brush to apply bronzer!

Blush/ Highlighter:
I’m not going to lie, I have yet to find my ride or die blush and highlighter, but I am going to include the ones I use on the daily right now. These are my current summer go tos, but there’s just something about both of them, that make them just not quite my favourites.

The blush I’m going to talk about is Nars- Blush in the shade Orgasm.  I heard so many good things about this blush, so I finally indulged.  It is pretty, don’t get me wrong, it just wasn’t quite what I expected and didn’t quite live up to my expectations.  It might have a lot to do with the fact that it has a shimmer in it, which I am not a fan of, but when you wear it on the skin it’s not that noticeable. I also find it very underwhelming when I wear it and have a fake tan on, you can barely see it on my skin and if I’m paying for high-end products, I want people to notice them!
s248930-main-hero

**I use the Sephora Collection- Pro Small Blush and Contour Brush to apply the blush.

The highlighter I’m going to briefly mention is the Make Up For Ever- Pro Sculpting Duo in Color 2 Golden.  I do really like this, especially for when I’m performing or going out.  There’s just something about it that holds me back from saying it’s my favourite. Like most highlighters, I find it clings and extenuates texture on my skin.  I also find it fades throughout the time I’m wearing it.  To make it last the longest, I apply it directly after I apply my makeup setting spray.  This makes it the most vibrant and last the longest!  Very beautiful product, just not my favourite.
s1669068-main-hero

** I use a dampened sponge from the drug store to apply highlighter!

EyeBrows:
I’m not a huge eyebrow professional.  If you didn’t notice from my pictures, I was blessed with already pretty full eyebrows.  I only fill in a few sparse spots and set them to keep them looking a little more tamed.

The first ride or die eyebrow product is Anatasia Beverly Hills- Brow Wiz in either Taupe or Caramel. I have tried many other products, but for me, nothing else compares. This eyebrow pencil is easy to use, comes in many shades and leaves you having a perfect eyebrow day, every day!
s1056084-main-hero

The second product is again by Anatasia Beverly Hills. It’s the Brow Gel in Clear. This stuff is like glue for your eyebrows! They will not move the entire day, and the best part is it never gets flakey or white if you try and brush your brows out. Love this stuff. Definitely worth the splurge!
s1012855-main-Lhero

Mascara: 
Eyelashes are the one thing I do not skimp out on. If you haven’t noticed I have been blessed with ridiculously long eyelashes (thank you genetics). I honestly have at least one person ask me a day what I use on them, if they’re real, etc. I am here to tell you my lash secrets!

The first mascara I use (yes I use multiple mascaras on the daily) is wonderful. I recently tried to see if I could go without it and use a less expensive one, and I could not. It is Benefit Cosmetics- Roller Lash Curling and Lifting Mascara.  This stuff works miracles! I have multiple friends who use this, and I have never heard anything bad about it! It lengthens, curls and does not flake at all as the day goes on.  It also does not get chunky at all! LOVE IT!
download

The second mascara I use is Australis- Voluptulash Mascara. The photo below does not do the brush justice. It is a little comb-like applicator, which I think scares many people, but I like how it looks on top of the first mascara I talked about.  Another thing I like about this mascara is that it is a tubing formula, meaning it’s waterproof and smudge-proof, but still comes off easily at the end of the day! It’s also on the cheaper side, so that’s always a plus!
81215

Finally, the last mascara I want to talk about is a crowd favourite.  It’s Too Faced- Better Than Sex Mascara.  This mascara is fabulous! It gives your eyelashes the perfect volume without looking clumpy. Is it better than sex? Very, very close haha. The only thing about this mascara is that I do not like it alone. I would never wear this without having a base mascara on first, maybe I’m weird, that’s just how I feel.
s1533439-main-zoom

Lip Stick:
Anyone who knows me, knows I love a good statement lip.  I haven’t ventured too far into the latest liquid lipstick trend, but I do know a few good staples.

I’ll start with my first favourite brand, which is also the brand that started my lipstick obsession… I mean collection ;). Of course, this is MAC Cosmetics lipsticks. I’m sure it’s not news to anyone that they make some of the most fabulous lipsticks. They range in colours, finishes and lasting time. Some of my favourites include: Flat Out Fabulous (a bright plum matte), Honey Love (a light nude matte), Lady Danger (a bright coral-red matte) and Vegas Volt (a coral sheen). **Photos below in the order I listed them!

The next lipstick brand I want to talk about is Bite Beauty. Unfortunately for me, I only own one lipstick from this brand, but I ABSOLUTELY love it. Everything from the consistency, to the pigment. Simply amazing! Bite Beauty advertises their lipsticks as “so good you could eat them” because they are hand made, with natural ingredients that you could literally eat! So cool! The colour I own is Violet, which I couldn’t find on the site, but I’ve heard Honeycomb (a beige nude) is amazing!
s1796549-main-hero

I have one more lipstick brand to mention before I bore you all to death. This last one is equally as fabulous as the first two, and LUCKILY gentle on your wallet. It’s ColourPop! This brand is definitely underated and under talked about. I think the main reasoning for this is because as of right now, you can only purchase ColourPop online! I own a few products by them and their Lippie Stix are definitley my favourite. I own the shade Clique (a orangey-red). It wears great and is the perfect colour for summer (I also own the mathcing lip liner and it goes on so smooth)! I highly reccomend you check them out!
clique-300x300

We did it! We made it through my two-part makeup favourite posts! I literally could stretch this out for another post, but I won’t do that to you. Let me know what some of your favourites are, or if you end up trying out any of my favourites! I am not being paid to talk about any of these products, they are literally my favourite that I use often if not every day! 🙂

-Ash

Leave a Reply

