Friday Faves: MakeUp (Part 1)

Makeup, the one thing I could talk about all day long! I love buying it, applying it, watching YouTube videos on. In my perfect world, I am a makeup artist on all the hottest movie sets. I think you guys get it, I love makeup, haha! I’m going to share my favourite products with you, starting from the base and going from there. I had to split this post into two because I forgot how many products I love (whoops). I use a mixture of drugstore and high end, varying in prices. Let’s get into it!!

Primers:
I have three primers to share with you (well two for sure, one you will probably think is crazy!)

The first one is a new found love for me. I’ve been wanting to buy it for a while and I finally took the plunge and fell in love. It’s the Stila- One Step Correct. This stuff is amazing. It helps even out my skin tone and makes my makeup last. It is a more high-end product, so it’s on the pricey side, but so far I would say it’s worth the splurge.
s1277474-main-hero

The second primer I love is Smashbox- Photo Finish Primer Water. I went into this one not wanting to like it. I mean it’s called a primer water, I can get water from the tap!! But I was proven wrong. This makes your skin feeling tacky, leaving the perfect base for makeup to stick too.  I also think it helps leave my skin looking more moisturized and glowy.  Again this is another high-end product. If you were to ask me if you should splurge or skip this one, I might say skip. Though it is a wonderful product, I won’t deny that!
s1681303-main-hero

My final primer is the crazy one.  I first saw this on one of my favourite YouTube channels, NikkieTutorials. It’s Nivea Men’s-After Shave Balm (sensitive skin). I know, I know, this sounds crazy, BUT GUYS it works! It has something to do with the glycerin in it. It’s the perfect base for makeup to stick to and makes your makeup last all day long.  Another positive, it’s under $10.00. WIN. The only negative is the smell. It smells like, well, after shave. The scent is faint though and goes away quite quickly.
NFM_Sensitive-After-Shave-Balm_bottle_1404

**I use my fingers to apply primers

Foundations:
It took me a while to find a foundation I really like. I’ve tried a lot, and many either 1) broke me out or 2) made me as oily as an oil slick. You guys are in for a treat for this one because both my favourite foundations are drug store and so affordable! WOOHOO.

The first foundation I love and is the one I’m wearing daily right now, it’s Maybelline- Fit Me! Matte and Poreless Foundation.  This stuff really helps me stay oil free all day, gives me the coverage I want and doesn’t irritate my skin in any way. It really helps minimize my pores and gives me a matte, but not dull complexion. I love it!
Ivory-FitMe-MattePorelessFoundation-pack

My second foundation favourite, which I love equally as the first one is L’oreal- True Match. This stuff literally comes in every shade and even gives you the option between cool, warm or neutral undertones. This foundation leaves your skin a little more dewy looking than the first, but at the same time does not make you oily. It’s very buildable and looks very natural. LOVE! I highly recommend!
Cos33a_19_Large

**I use my Beauty Blender to apply foundation

Concealers: 
Again, lucky for you guys (and my wallet) my favourite concealers are drug store, AKA affordable!! I actually have never dabbled into the high-end concealers, which is probably for the better haha.

My first favourite is Maybelline-  Instant Age Rewind. It wasn’t love at first site for this one, but I gave it another try and now I loveeee it. It’s a nice light formula that gives you an airbrushed looking coverage. Sometimes I even just use this and no foundation, it’s THAT GOOD. I do find I fly through it, though!
instant-age-rewind-the-eraser-eye_pack-shot-crop

My next favourite is the Maybelline- SuperStay Better Skin Concealer. This gives you great coverage for under eye darkness without looking cakey. This one comes in second to the Age Rewind but is definitely high on my list.
Better_Skin_Concealer_30_light_Medium_pack-shot

**I use my Beauty Blender to blend out concealer

Powders:
Powder, us oily skinned friends’ favourite product. I have a huge list I could talk about because I’ve literally tried every type of powder out there, but I’ll keep it short for you.

The first powder I’m going to talk about, I had to put first because she deserves that position. It is the well known, always talked about, Laura Mercier- Translucent Loose Setting Powder. The gates of heaven opened when this lovely product was invented. It is definitely as good as people say it is, even though I’m currently trying to convince myself otherwise because I just ran out and she’s a pricey one I tell ya. Totally worth it though, I just really need to pay rent this month. This powder is great for setting the under eyes and not looking cakey, it’s good for baking and also for setting foundation. I can definitely tell the difference from when I use this, to when I don’t, just by the texture of my skin.  This is a lovely, lovely product. Props to Laura Mercier. I highly recommend.
s870618-main-hero

The next powder I want to talk about is another product I recently found in my collection again. I was actually given this powder and did not really have high hopes for it, but it surprised me. It’s Australis- Pressed Powder. This is an Australian drugstore brand, that here in Canada you do not hear much about.  With the low price on this one, it does a good job at what it says it’s going to do: keep you matte and set your foundation. I like to use this on top of my foundation, to help blend my bronzer and blush out more smoothly.
46000

**I use an E.l.f. Studio Complexion Brush to apply powder

That is all for the part one of my makeup obsession babble! Stay tuned for next Friday to hear more of my favourites!!

-A

Leave a Reply

