Waves

I have always been memorized by waves.  The ease in which they move. Freely, without thought or direction. I think people need to adopt this movement.  People are constantly trying to control every aspect of their lives. Trying to plan out everything to the last detail, but what happens when things don’t go their way? They are left feeling unaccomplished and not good enough.  Their souls and dreams are crushed by the illusion that things need to be done a certain way and by a certain time.

I’m going to tell you a very important thing, that it took me some time to learn myself. Life does not need to be lived a certain way. You don’t need to feel bad if your journey looks differently than the journeys of people around you. You don’t need to graduate from high school and go straight to uni. You don’t need to get married and have children before the age of 30, you don’t even need to get married at all if you don’t want to.  You also don’t need to know what you want to do as soon as you graduate. It took me 7 years after I graduated to figure out what I truly wanted to do with my life and even though I wish I would have known earlier, I’m glad I didn’t choose something because I thought I had to.

I’m proud of my path. I don’t care if it looks differently than other 25 year olds. Comparing is and always has been my worst enemy, and I chose every day not to compare where I am in life to those around me.

*Focus on what you can control and let the rest flow around you.

tumblr_nre3w1NFpn1rxr2cho1_1280

Leave a Reply

